Never been afraid of the dark.

As a child, my grandmother Hortencia Torres taught me not to be afraid of the dark. She was really something special, but to make this long story short- she empowered me so much, even as a little girl. I’m not fearless, but I fear minimal things, foolish things, human things. Spiders. Losing those I love. Getting into a car accident. Bad credit scores. Donald Trump supporters.

You know, logical things.

Anyway, I saw this comic and it made me laugh, but then also want to cry.

You see, this election season has weighed heavy on my heart. It has been difficult. It has been personal. I’ve been verbally and emotionally attacked as a Mexican and as a woman by man that has been best described as an evil, racist cheeto. It’s not that I think racism is dead, I know it isn’t. Racism is alive and kicking, subtle, sometimes we get a good look at it, but now it’s ALL UP IN OUR FACE and it’s negligent and impossible to ignore. Trump has been like a pied piper to a bunch of white power serpents, is all. It’s sort of a blessing in disguise. 

I’m surprised all the rage and anger I have been living lately hasn’t made me die of a nose bleed. This is a (pretty accurate) anime reenactment of me listening to politics in the morning:

Thanks, NPR!

I have so much I want to talk about regarding the election but most of the time I just end up screaming profanities and it’s hard to get across more than just the fact that you’re super upset when all that comes out of your mouth are curse words.

I’m a smart woman, why can’t I say what I am feeling without resorting to basic words? I just don’t know. Again, me, hearing the latest news about Donald Trump:

“Grab them by the WHA-?!” *splurt*

Anyway, I was listening to Latino USA and Jorge Ramos, that sexy silver fox gave an excellent interview about his documentary Hate Rising (***TRIGGER WARNING *** THE DOCUMENTARY TOUCHES UPON racism, racial profanity, white supremacy, derogatory terms, KKK gatherings and Nazi gatherings) . It’s frightening as hell, but a really great point to open up dialogue about racism and race relations and what that means as of late. The last quote of his interview left me in messy tears, it is what I know to be true, also incredibly healing to know that me and mine a part of that repair.

Hate is here and the damage has been done. It doesn’t mean that we won’t be able to go back to a civilized society, but I think it’s gonna take many, many years to repair the damage that Donald Trump has done those voices that were contained, those voices of hate are out in the open.

-Jorge Ramos

Like I said, I am not afraid of the dark, but I know what it may contain. I am not scared of the light, as it allows us to see what may harm us and work to disarm and improve and do away with what doesn’t serve us.

The the damage has been done, yes. However, the ability to come together and make something stronger and greater still is there. I know it won’t be easy. I know it will be painful. I know it will be done.

Leave a Reply

