Aren’t I the luckiest?

I started a new job in the later part of 2016. I can’t talk too much about it, because I don’t know who’s listening (reading…whatever…) but I will say that at first everyone was too enthusiastic and it made me suspicious. Then towards the later part of the first month of training I got to meet the CEO and she is legit amazing. She talked about being a feminist (confirmed, she is) her vast music collection (extensive and varied) and how if you can’t see it, you can’t be it and that is why she considers it her duty to take on so much, so she can open those doors.

FEMINIST AND PROFESSIONAL SWOONING, LORD.

Today, I was observed by a supervisor and never felt nervous, like AT ALL. He sat next to me and listened to my calls for almost an hour, which didn’t feel like an hour at all, and his feedback was good. Like, really good.

Anyway, it is so bizarre to me to be almost 6 months into this job and it still feels so giddy new. I still keep in touch with my former colleagues, always telling them to come work with me and they keep telling me no, and I am such a selfish brat, it’s a miracle I am telling them to come work with me, but I am. And you know why? Because I am drunk in worky lust. I sit in front of a gigantic window that is keeping my winter blues away. I am blissed out because of the dorky birthday greeting they gave me. I am beside myself with joy because I already got a raise.

I was recalling how my last place of employment trumpeted the benefits of meritocracy but paid me miserable wages. I was remembering how my old supervisor shut me down when I talked about my fandom and my current boss loves to see me squee about it, because, he said “It’s the part that makes you, YOU”

Today I was again feeling all this Disneyland workplace happiness, and I almost wanted to cry.

Then this evening after work I watched this hilarious Sanrio short that somewhat reflects what  I used to be: A repressed, overworked  little red panda, Aggretsuko:

dart.gif

And it is so marvelous to not be her 100%, hating her job, being weighed down by a heavy, demanding, micromanaging boss. It feels good to bask in autonomy.

Also- not a red panda, but whatever. 

Just the same, Aggretsuko loves to sing metal and drink beer… so you know. There is still room for her in my heart- just a little happier.

Leave a Reply

